Perfectly sweet

Standard

20130620-110450.jpg
When I look at this sweet face, it’s hard for me to believe that it isn’t perfect. Unfortunately, Little Sister’s head has some mild to moderate asymmetry, so she will be getting a DOC Band (helmet) in the next two weeks to reshape her head. She has torticollis, or wryneck, and having tighter neck muscles on one side has made her only want to turn her head to the left. Torticollis is likely due to her placement in the womb. She was our Baby B, who was breach and always partially–once completely!–hidden behind Baby A. We are now doing some neck exercises to stretch those tight muscles and strengthen the weaker muscles on the other side of her neck. She didn’t like the stretches at first, but I discovered that playfully kissing her neck while stretching keeps her happy.

We noticed just a few weeks after birth that both babies tended to turn their heads to the left while sleeping and taking their bottles. We tried to change their positions and offer tummy time to avoid flat areas on their heads, but this baby girl was more persistent than her twin and now has positional plagiocephaly, a flattening on the back left side of her head. This has caused her left ear and forehead to shift forward a little, which could mean her jaw has shifted forward as well and could result in a cross bite. We also noticed early on that the top of her head near her crown was taller than her twin’s. Our pediatrician told us to do plenty of tummy time, and the shape of her head should resolve on its own, but, alas, it has not. The DOC Band will correct all of this, so we have scheduled to have her fitted ASAP.

She will wear the DOC Band 23 hours a day for 8-10 weeks, so I want to make it cute. I have been researching wraps and accessories for the band, and there is no shortage of either. Wrap Buddies is a non-profit that offers free wraps for helmets, so I filled out an application and hope to hear from them soon. This picture shows some of their designs that can be applied to a helmet.

20130621-071042.jpg
There are also plenty of accessories on Etsy like these cute bows from Lola’s Band Accessories. I could probably make some myself, but I doubt I would get around to making them until she was almost finished with the band.

20130620-113812.jpg http://www.etsy.com/shop/LolasBandAccessories?ref=seller_info

I couldn’t post Little Sister’s four-month photo without also posting Sissy’s. I just love these baby girls so much! They are so cute and sweet, and they really are happy babies. Now that we have Little Sister’s dairy problem figured out, there is no screaming throughout the store or church, and they really only fuss when they are tired or hungry. Sissy loves tummy time and refuses to stay on her back to sleep. Little Sister isn’t struggling as much with tummy time now and is getting stronger. I’m sure they’ll both be crawling in 2-3 months, and then I’ll be busier than I am now!

20130621-072401.jpg

About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

One response »

  1. They are beautiful and perfect babies. God will not give you more than you can bare. He may let you go through some trials but He will point you in the right direction, to doctors, etc. Seems as if you have already been blessed with the condition being found and taken care of so quickly. Want you to know I enjoy the blog and pictures. Your new house is beautiful. Love you, G-ma Kittie

Leave a Reply

