We are finally moving!

Standard

We have been planning/building a house for what seems like forever, and we are finally moving in this weekend. We are so excited to move out of this rent house and have our own place again. It has been a long 13 months!

As I’m packing what’s left in our kitchen, I wanted to share a couple of moving tips that save me time when unpacking. You may already know these, but maybe there is someone who will find this information useful.

When packing my plates or other flat dishes, I place one styrofoam plate between each plate for cushion. We’ve moved our dishes this way at least three times, and none have been broken so far.

20130623-080049.jpg
After I have a good-sized stack, I wrap the entire stack with plastic food wrap. This keeps out any dust or germs, and the dishes can go straight into the cabinets at the new house.

20130623-080235.jpg
I am quite the germophobe and feel like everything that has been in a box or wrapped in paper needs to be washed before going in my cabinets or drawers. These two tips save me a lot of time and energy when unpacking.

About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

One response »

  1. I forgot to mention that the styrofoam plates are reusable after unpacking. Since the dishes were clean and the styrofoam plates were clean, you can use the styrofoam plates for pizza because you know you won’t be cooking while moving and unpacking your kitchen!

Leave a Reply

