Teeth

Standard

One reason I haven’t blogged much lately is we are in the throes of teeth coming in and falling out. Cutting teeth can mean fussiness, waking during the night, lots of drooling, and runny noses. I don’t recall big sister having any of those problems. I never knew when her teeth were coming in. Big brother would always have cold symptoms: coughing, runny nose, etc. I would wait a week and then take him to the doctor just in case. They would tell me it must be a virus, and then he would cut a tooth the next day, and his symptoms would clear up. It has been seven years since I had to deal with teething pains, and I certainly didn’t know what to expect with two babies teething at the same time, but here we are with fussiness, wakefulness, drooling, and biting. At least they are teething at the same time, so maybe we can have a break before the next teeth come in.

20130823-145443.jpg
Little sister actually cut the first tooth on July 27th with Sissy’s first tooth coming in August 7th, but then Sissy’s second tooth came in August 19th with little sister’s on the 20th. The photo above shows little sister’s first tooth and the second one almost in. It cut through later that day.

In the midst of the babies’ teeth coming in, big brother has been losing his teeth. He has lost the four front ones with three of those having grown back in at least most of the way. On August 11th, big brother was eating corn on the cob at dinner and stopped midway through because his tooth was hurting. After that, he became determined that that tooth would be out that night. Have I mentioned that he is strong willed? He worked on that tooth all evening, and he finally got it out just before going to bed. He has pulled three of his teeth by himself. The other one had to be pulled by our dentist because his permanent tooth had already come in behind the baby tooth, and the baby tooth still wasn’t loose. He was so proud of himself!

20130823-150736.jpg

About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

Leave a Reply

