On the Move

Standard

With two older children who have a number of choking hazards (a.k.a. toys) lying around nearly all the time, it has been easier to keep the babies in their room for play time, but they have become increasingly mobile in the last couple of weeks. Sissy started crawling about a week before they turned six months old and pulled up to standing a couple days later. Big brother just happened to be in the room at the time and took this photo with my phone.

20130824-140951.jpgLittle sister started army crawling just a few days after their six month mark and pulled up a few days later. I think it is funny that both girls pulled up for the first time on my legs. No one else was around to document little sister’s milestone, so this is the best I could do.

20130824-144932.jpgThey are now crawling too quickly for me to run to the restroom or work in the kitchen and expect them to be in their room (or behaving) when I return. Sissy is the more dominant one and frequently pulls little sister’s hair and clothes. She isn’t being mean, just curious, but we have to watch her.

20130824-142145.jpgFortunately, big brother and big sister enjoy playing with them and can be trusted to watch them for a few minutes. We also have an exersaucer and a jumperoo (thanks to a sweet friend) that we can use when we need the babies to stay safe and happy without constant supervision or when the older ones are playing with toys or games with small pieces.

20130824-141424.jpgFor the past few days, we have started letting the babies crawl out of their room into the game room. It’s more work but a necessary step, and we need to develop the habit of keeping choking hazards out of reach because it won’t be long before the babies are walking all over the house.

20130824-134700.jpgI had hoped that these two would develop a little slower than average because they are twins, but so far they have kept up with big brother’s crazy-fast development. He was walking by nine months, and I’m sure sissy will be walking by then with little sister shortly after. Ready or not, here they come!

About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

One response »

  1. I love the pics. These girls are just so precious. Everytime I need a big smile or good laugh I can go look at your pictures of the kids. I was talking to my sister earlier and she was telling me about how they are crawling, pulling up and nearly walking. I saw the big kids first day of school pics and just loved them too. You have beautiful children. God has so blessed you and your husband, I am so proud and happy for you both.

Leave a Reply

