Food

Standard

We’ve been busy cooking lately, so I thought I would share some pics of a few of our creations.

20131118-124411.jpgBig brother loves to cook and used to help me in the kitchen all the time. He asked for a chef’s apron a couple of years ago, so Grammy got him a chef’s apron and hat for Christmas that year, and it still fits. He whipped up some pancakes for himself and big sister last week, adding blueberries to his after making hers plain. I’ll post our recipe soon.

20131118-130956.jpgI found this recipe on Pinterest and finally made these delicious peanut butter bars. I knew better than to make the whole recipe just for us, so I halved the recipe and used a smaller dish, but my bars were a little thicker than they should have been. They were still delicious!

20131118-131335.jpgWe received this Baby Brezza One Step Baby Food Maker as a baby shower gift almost a year ago. I did not make baby food for our older two children. It just didn’t occur to me to do so. When I registered for gifts while expecting the twins, I thought I’d try making their food. With two babies, jarred baby food could get expensive, and I figured two babies would be able to eat enough to make it worth my time. I have been making their food for a few months now, and it’s not hard, and it doesn’t take too much time. The most time-consuming part is dicing the food to 1/4″ pieces for the Baby Brezza. I bought a butternut squash and diced that whole thing into 1/4″ pieces. It took forever, my hands hurt when I was halfway finished, and I don’t think I steamed it long enough because there were little pieces in it after the machine blended it into a purée. Needless to say, I haven’t tried butternut squash again! I have made plenty of other foods for the babies and have enjoyed having the Baby Brezza. You just dice the food, put it in the bowl, pour water into the steam tank, and turn it on. It will steam for 10 to 30 minutes and then automatically blend if you want.

I was at Costco a few days ago and found a 2-pound package of organic butternut squash already cut in 1″ cubes. I wanted to make a lot at one time, since it was a large package and I’m hoping the babies will eat it, so I used my stockpot and steamer insert. It only took about 15 minutes to steam about 1.5 pounds this way. Then I put it all in my KitchenAid food processor and puréed it.

20131118-132437.jpgI put about one ounce in each ice cube well and put them in the freezer. Once frozen, I transferred the cubes to a freezer bag and will remove a couple at a time to thaw for the babies to eat. Now if we can just get them to eat it! So far, little sister likes peaches, and they both like apples and blueberries mixed together (super messy going in and coming out!), but neither of them would eat plain apples, bananas, squash, or sweet potatoes. They did like it when I mixed peaches, bananas, and oatmeal together, but sissy wouldn’t eat that the second time I made it for them. I’ve heard that it could take up to 10 times before they will eat a new food, so we will keep trying.

About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

Leave a Reply

