Whole Wheat Pancakes and Waffles Recipe

Standard

20131118-151458.jpgMy children love pancakes and waffles and would probably eat them every day if I would make them. My son decided he would make pancakes himself last week, and he did so with only a little supervision from me. This is the recipe we use.

1 cup whole wheat flour (1 1/2 cups if not using ground flax seed)
1/2 cup ground flax seed
1/2 cup sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1 large egg
1 TBSP vanilla
1 TBSP vegetable oil
1 cup milk

Mix all ingredients together until dry ingredients are wet. Use a 1/4-cup measuring cup or a large scoop with a squeeze-action handle to pour onto a hot, greased pan for pancakes, or pour batter onto a hot, greased waffle iron for waffles. Flip pancakes when bubbles start to appear around the edges for lighter pancakes or cook a little longer for darker pancakes. This recipe makes enough pancakes or waffles to feed four people.

I think I found the original recipe on www.sparkrecipes.com a few years ago, but I have tweaked it and made it my own. You can use a combination of all-purpose flour and whole wheat flour or use only one type of flour. My kids enjoy this recipe with all-purpose flour and no ground flax seed, which isn’t as healthy, but I have thrown an extra farm-fresh egg in (decrease the milk) for a little extra protein. I usually just throw the basic ingredients in a bowl without really measuring, and it turns out fine. You can add blueberries, nuts, chocolate chips, etc. Just fold those in after mixing the other ingredients. If I’m eating pancakes (not just the kids), I’ll add ground flax seed, some oats, and a little more milk to the batter after making theirs because I enjoy heartier pancakes. Big sister and I eat our pancakes plain or topped with a little butter while big brother likes his topped with pure maple syrup. How do you like your pancakes or waffles?

About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: November Menu | Chronicling Chaos

  2. Pingback: September Menu | Chronicling Chaos

Leave a Reply

