Bible Memorization

Standard

Over the course of my life, I have memorized a lot of scripture. Unfortunately, I have forgotten much of it because I did not continue to review those verses. In the last few years, I have tried memorizing scripture using notecards, a spiral notebook, and apps on my phone, but I haven’t been able to stick with it.

When Big Brother and Big Sister started Awanas in the fall, I wanted to help them with their scripture memory. I needed something simple for the children, and I needed something I would actually continue for more than a couple months. I came across this blog post on Pinterest a few months back, and it looked like something that I would actually do. It was just index cards on a ring, but the progression was what I had been lacking previously. The kids and I started this together and memorized Matthew 7:12 as a “Family” verse. Here is my first card.

20140108-164115.jpg

20140108-164125.jpgBasically, I memorized the verse, and then recited it once a day for 50 days, making tally marks on the bottom left. After 50 days, I moved this card from my “Daily Verses” ring to my “Weekly Verses” ring. Now I just recite this verse once a week and make tally marks.

20140108-165118.jpgAfter 50 weeks, I will move this card to a new ring for “Monthly Verses” and recite it for 50 months. I changed my system a little at this point. The lady who posted this idea plans to review her verses each semester. I’m planning to review mine once a quarter after 50 months. I might review the verses once a year after reviewing quarterly, but that’s over 16 years down the road, so I’ll determine that when my youngest two are in high school.

What I love about this system is the progression from reviewing the verses daily to weekly to monthly and so on. This gives me a goal to work towards. I feel like I have really accomplished something when I move a card onto the weekly ring. I enjoy making the tally marks because I’m one of those people who enjoys making lists and checking things off when they are complete.

This system works for me, and the kids were really excited about it the first few weeks. Unfortunately, I haven’t been as faithful with theirs as I have been with mine. Big Sister can’t read her verses yet, so I have to read her the reference and give her the first word or two. I couldn’t keep up with Big Brother’s verses. He didn’t want to go to Awanas the last two years, so he had three Sparks books to complete this year, and he whipped through the first two books in two months! Many of the verses review or build on verses from the previous book, so we are in the process of making cards for all of the verses from his third book.

For my verses, I chose some that I had memorized before, verses we had chosen for each of our children, and verses from this list and a few others I found on Pinterest. As I come across verses that speak to me, I add them to my verses to memorize. I plan to continue meditating on scriptures in this way for the rest of my life to ensure that I have God’s word hidden in my heart. I love being able to pray scriptures for my children, family, and friends.

Do you memorize scripture? What system works for you? Do you have any ideas for kids?

About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

3 responses »

  1. Very simple, practical and most importantly, do-able! Thanks for sharing! I’ve been eyeing this system. http://simplycharlottemason.com/timesavers/memorysys/. It’s somewhat similar in its goal being constant review, only utilizes a box instead of a ring. The more verses we memorize the more we are really in need of some concrete system of review, and I’m very close to start implementing it.. Ola.

  2. Pingback: Scripture Memorization and a Challenge | Chronicling Chaos

Leave a Reply

