Our Vegetable Garden

Standard

My husband built raised beds for a vegetable garden at two of our previous homes, so he has had practice building the frames and filling the beds, and we have learned a few things from our previous gardens.  We sold our previous home two years ago in May after planting our garden.  It was actually a big selling point for the wife who bought our home, but I was disappointed that I had done all the work, and they were able to reap my harvest.  Oh, well.  I would rather have my current home and garden anyway. We are fortunate to live just down the driveway from my husband’s parents. Their house can be seen in the background of some of these photos along with their barn.
IMG_4150
For our current garden, we decided to build 4′ x 8′ beds to maximize the space between the side of our house and the pasture fence, so my husband bought 8-foot-long two-by-sixes and cut some in half for the 4-foot sides.  He also bought 4-inch square landscaping timbers and cut them into pieces about six inches long to put in each corner.  He screwed the side pieces into the landscaping timber pieces, forming a rectangle, with Big Brother’s help.  He made seven of these wooden frames for our garden.  This is the most we have ever had, so we’ll see how well I do at tending our garden.
IMG_4155
My husband sprayed Round-Up on the grass and weeds first to try to prevent them from growing in our garden.  Then he put down a weed barrier fabric, using nails to secure it to the ground.  We placed the wooden frames on top of the fabric and filled each one with a soil mixture that he bought by the truckload.  We actually put part of the fabric down, placed a wooden frame on top, and he backed up his truck all the way to that frame to fill it.  Then he would unroll more fabric, and we would place the next frame and fill it.  This saved us from having to use the wheel barrow to move the soil to each bed.  Sissy thought she could help Daddy with spreading the dirt, but that shovel is quite a bit bigger than she is!
IMG_4230
We also purchased a truckload of decomposed (crushed) granite to line the walkways.  This keeps them from being muddy, and my husband won’t have to mow or use the weed eater in the garden.  We did this in our last garden as well, and it helped prevent grass from growing in the beds.  This time, my husband also put the weed barrier fabric under the walkways, so I’m hoping I won’t be constantly pulling grass out of the walkways either.  He put metal edging around the garden against the fence and on the back side to keep the granite from spilling into the yard.  I leveled out the space under the gate and fit the square paving stones in place, which took me at least an hour.  It was a good workout though.
IMG_4339
Below is a photo of our garden taken today.  We have planted broccoli, cauliflower, onions, basil, carrots, and sugar snap peas.  (Disregard that holly bush in the middle of one bed.  Hubby put it there, so it would get watered this morning, but the wind blew it over.  We will start on our landscaping this weekend and find a place to plant that holly bush.)  I started romaine lettuce in a flat container today, and my mother-in-law started my tomatoes, peppers, and herbs in her green house a couple weeks ago.  We will also plant cantaloupe, watermelon, pumpkins, and butternut squash later, but we are planning to plant those towards the back of our backyard, since the vines would go everywhere and take over our vegetable garden.  It’s a work in progress, but we are looking forward to having fresh vegetables this summer.
garden

About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

Leave a Reply

