No-Spend Month: Day 1

Standard

So not much happened financially today, which is a good thing. 

  • I gave my husband $5 out of what I had saved because he had plans to eat lunch at one of the fire stations.  
  • Today was a homeschool day for our older two, so I didn’t go anywhere and had no temptation to spend money.
  • My son ran an errand with his grandmother and tried to talk her into taking him to McDonald’s to buy two apple pies, but she texted me and asked if he could do that.  He had his own money, BUT this was a nonessential purchase, AND he had chosen to go run an errand WHILE I was preparing lunch for all of us, so I said no.
  • I sold two more items on Facebook and banked another $20, so we netted $15 for day one.  Good start!
  • We had beef tater tot casserole, broccoli, shells and cheese (for the kids), mandarin oranges, and blackberries for dinner.  I fed nine people tonight (lol) and still had two servings of the casserole leftover for lunch tomorrow or this weekend. 

I guess I should explain why there were nine of us at dinner.  A few months ago, I started paying a teenager down the road to babysit the twins at our house for two hours a week while I was home so I could do things (like cook dinner) without having to run after them everywhere.  My mother-in-law offered to keep the girls for free every afternoon while I cook dinner, so I offered to feed her and my father-in-law dinner every night.  This arrangement has worked out very well for all of us because I enjoy cooking for others and having a full house.  So we normally have eight at our table most evenings, but Big Brother had a friend over this afternoon who stayed for dinner, so that made nine tonight. 

Here is a photo of the little ones holding hands as we were making our way into Walmart last Friday.  (Don’t let their cuteness fool you. They are double trouble!)

I was thinking this was our last shopping trip before October, but I think I went back to Walmart Monday and to Costco on Tuesday.  Goodness!  This is why we need to do a no-spend month. 

About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

