No-Spend Month: Day 4

Standard

A no-spend month can create more opportunities for family activities because you must learn to do free things at home.  This morning, all four kids helped me pick tomatoes from my in-laws’ garden.  Their plants were loaded with red tomatoes, and my mother-in-law had told me to help myself.  Big Brother ate several right off the vine.  This afternoon, we set up a croquet game (borrowed from my in-laws) in our backyard, and I taught the kids how to play.  We also watched the last two innings of a great baseball game together on TV.  All of this wonderful togetherness, and I didn’t take a single photo of any of us!

  • We ate leftovers and food from the freezer again for lunch.
  • We needed a few groceries, so my husband took cash to the store and only bought what we needed.  He spent $24.89, which included some antihistamine eye drops ($13) for one of the girls who woke up with a very puffy eye.
  • I didn’t sell anything today, so we are down $24.89 for the day, but we still have $300 saved, and we haven’t used any money from our checking account. 
  • I made hobo dinners for our evening meal.  The little girls only wanted sausage in theirs.  My in-laws ate a big lunch, so they didn’t eat dinner with us, so I only used one package of sausage tonight, which leaves one for another recipe later this month. 
About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

Leave a Reply

