No-Spend Month: Day 5

Standard

I have been eating and really enjoying my multigrain rolls every morning for breakfast, and I ate the last two this morning, but that didn’t keep me from being tempted a couple hours later.  We don’t have a Chick-fil-a in our town, but I drove by one this morning after dropping off the little girls at Mother’s Day Out.  I don’t think there is any better fast food breakfast than a Chick-fil-a chicken biscuit.  Mmm.  But I drove on by, dreaming of the day when I can eat another chicken biscuit.  

I mentioned yesterday that Little Sister woke up with a swollen eye.  This morning that eye was somewhat better, but now both eyes are puffy.  It is definitely allergies (not pink eye) because there was so much improvement after I gave her Zyrtec and antihistamine eye drops that I took her photo before school to show my husband.  

 When I picked up the big kids from school, Big Sister begged me to take her to Sonic for a drink.  She had brought her own money and was willing to pay for her drink, but I refused.  I don’t think it’s right for her to spend her money when we have committed to a no-spend month.  She had a bottle of water in her backpack, so she didn’t need a drink, and it only takes us 10-15 minutes to get home from their school, and I made her some sweet tea when we got home.  Am I being too strict with this?  Should I let her spend what little money she has?

  • I had leftovers for lunch.  The kids made lunches from our refrigerator and pantry.  My husband even came home for lunch and cooked himself a corny dog from our freezer. 
  • My husband takes his uniform shirts to the cleaners and meant to pick them up on September 30th, but he forgot, so we paid $22.85 out of our reserved cash.  Unfortunately, that was not something I had budgeted for, so I’ll try to sell something tomorrow.  Nothing sold today, so we are down $22.85 for the day.  That’s better than usual though.  Hubby’s lunch, my Chick-fil-a breakfast, and the kids’ Sonic would have added up to $20 if we hadn’t declared this a no-spend month.
  • We had quiche for dinner, using eggs from my in-laws’ chickens and a homemade pie crust (see recipe below).  I bought a pineapple early last week and finally cut it up for dinner (does anyone else procrastinate cutting up large, messy fruit or is it just me?) along with some of the tomatoes we picked yesterday.  I had planned to make a loaf of French bread since quiche is French, but I forgot all about the bread until it was too late, so I decided the pie crust was enough.  I bought Valencia oranges almost two weeks ago for juice, but something happened and breakfast for dinner didn’t happen that week, so I juiced them tonight.   Only one orange was rotten, and we had plenty of juice for everyone.

I think I found this pie crust recipe in a magazine several years ago, but I don’t remember where, so I can’t give credit to the original author.  I left out the sugar tonight since quiche isn’t a dessert, but this pie crust is excellent for any recipe.  I used it last week when I made a chicken pot pie, and I have used it before for a pecan pie and a fruit cobbler.  I rarely have shortening in my pantry and we go through a lot of butter, so I have been using coconut oil to make this crust.  This recipe makes one pie crust.  I double it when I need a top and bottom crust. 
Sweet Pie Crust

1 1/2 cups flour

2 TBSP sugar

1/4 tsp salt

8 TBSP shortening or 10 TBSP butter, softened

3 – 4 TBSP milk

Mix first three ingredients together.  Add shortening/butter and work into the dry mixture.  Stir in the milk until dough is moist and holds together.  Roll out on wax paper and transfer to baking dish.  Bake according to recipe.  If crust begins to brown earlier than the dish, cover crust with a pie crust shield or strips of foil.

About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Homemade Chicken Pot Pie | Chronicling Chaos

  2. Pingback: Blackberry Cobbler | Chronicling Chaos

Leave a Reply

