Homemade Chicken Pot Pie

Standard
Homemade Chicken Pot Pie

I started writing this post 18 months ago but never finished it!  Since I just posted my pie crust recipe last night, I thought I would finish and share this recipe (I even have pictures from when I started this).  This pot pie is so rich and creamy; it’s totally worth the time to make your own crust.  My husband thought he didn’t like chicken pot pie until he finally tried mine!  I hope you will try it sometime and let me know what you think. 

Homemade Chicken Pot Pie

1/2 – 1 pound chicken (I use boneless, skinless chicken breasts, but you could use thighs, a whole chicken, or even a rotisserie chicken to save time)

1 bag frozen mixed vegetables

1/2 cup chicken stock or broth

cream of chicken soup recipe

homemade pie crusts

Boil chicken in a pot of water until no longer pink.  Shred with two forks.  Prepare pie crust and cream soup recipe.      

20140203-122016.jpg

Pie crust after working in butter with a pastry blender.


20140203-122057.jpg

After mixing in a little milk, the pie crust is ready to roll.


20140203-122123.jpg

The cream soup recipe begins with butter and flour over medium heat.

 
20140203-122210.jpg

The cream of chicken soup has thickened, and seasonings were added.


Combine chicken, extra broth, mixed vegetables, and prepared cream soup.

20140203-122234.jpg

Place bottom crust in baking dish (a pie plate or 9-inch square dish work well).  Pour chicken mixture into bottom pie crust.  Roll out top crust and place on top, crimping edges to seal.  Use a fork or knife to make holes in crust to vent.  Place foil strips or a pie crust shield around the edges to prevent over-browning. 

20140203-122300.jpg

Bake at 400 degrees for 30-40 minutes or until bubbling, removing foil or pie crust shield for last 5-10 minutes. 

20140203-131923.jpg

20140203-131947.jpg

Serves 6-8.

About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

3 responses »

    • That sounds basically like my grandma’s recipe for chicken and dumplings except for the potatoes. I’m sure that tastes delicious.

  1. Pingback: No-Spend Month:  Menu | Chronicling Chaos

Leave a Reply

