Nap Mat Success!

Standard
Nap Mat Success!

  I finished both nap mats by 2:00 pm today.  I’m so thankful to have them finished and ready for the girls to take to school next week, and I was able to complete them using things I had already.  A no-spend month forces you to be creative!

 They turned out well, and the girls love them.  I’m glad to use up some of the bulky supplies I’ve been storing for years:  1-inch thick foam (3 years), fleece (9 years), fabric (2-6 years), fiber fill (1 year). 

 I changed a couple of things from the original nap mat tutorial.  I had some brown canvas webbing left from another project, so I used that instead of making the tubes and using elastic, which saved me some time.    

 I also had the fleece leftover from when I used it for a newborn backdrop for taking photos of my son, so I used that instead of minky fabric.  Minky is so hard to sew, and the fleece was thicker, so I didn’t double it like I would have with the minky, which saved me time and money.  The mat on the left was made using fabric left from when I made drapes for Big Sister’s room several years ago, and that is what Sissy picked.  The mat on the right was made using fabric my husband bought for me on his last mission trip to Ghana, and that is what Little Sister wanted to use.

 After making a dozen of these, I have learned a few tricks too, like pressing the 1/2-inch seam allowance on the open edge before sewing the other three sides together. 

 I also had to make some modifications due to this sweet girl tearing up the foam yesterday, so her mat is a few inches shorter, but it is still long enough for her.

 

About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: No-Spend Month:  Day 21 | Chronicling Chaos

Leave a Reply

