No-Spend Month: Day 14

Standard

Well, I survived my first day of teaching in almost 10 years. I had trouble going to sleep last night.  I was trying to finish reading a book when Big Sister got up (sleepwalking) at 10:20 pm.  I finished the book shortly after putting her back to bed, but my mind wouldn’t settle.  I tried praying for peace and ended up dozing off but only for a few moments because Sissy woke up at 11:20 pm.  I think I managed to sleep for just over five hours.  Despite my lack of sleep, I was able to learn all 34 students’ names quickly enough to impress them and myself!  My students were great, and I love teaching math again.  I’m looking forward to getting to know the kids and their parents better.

  • I got up at 5:00 am and started a pot of water for oatmeal before the kids woke up.  Big Brother thought he would have to eat cold cereal on school mornings from now on, so I tried preparing a hot breakfast to show him I could do it.  He was the only one who did not eat oatmeal this morning. 
  • The kids and I all packed lunches to eat at school.  Hubby took money for lunch again.  He only spent $7.50 today.  I passed some lunch tables at school that had Chick-fil-a bags waiting for students, and I felt deprived for a moment, especially with my husband eating out a few times this week, but that just reminded me what I have to look forward to in November.
  • The little girls needed fresh fruit, yogurt, and cereal, so we went to the store this afternoon. We spent $18.08 on groceries. 
  • They are having a book fair at our school this week, so I took the kids after I picked them up and let them “shop” for books. I took photos of the kids holding up books they want for Christmas.

  

 For a few years now, we have limited the kids’ Christmas gifts to four categories:

  1. Something to wear
  2. Something to read
  3. Something they want
  4. Something they need

All of our children love books and new clothes, so they end up getting several things they want.  I like buying books from the book fair because it helps our school, and I don’t have to go to a store.  Plus, the older kids fill out wish lists when they preview the book fair with their classes, so I know exactly what they want.  

Now, I know this is a no-spend month, but we already have this expense covered.  My husband sets aside money each quarter for Christmas, so I can take money from our Christmas fund for these books and not spend any money from our monthly income.  I will hide these gifts for two months and then wrap them up for Christmas.  I love getting some shopping done ahead of time. 

About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

2 responses »

  1. I never sleep the night before I start a new class, and usually the night before we return from a big break! Don’t overdo it Leslie! Supermom hot breakfast, teaching ….

    • First of all, I am not supermom. I wrote a post about that a couple years ago. Secondly, it was just oatmeal, not bacon, eggs, and pancakes. (That’s for dinner tonight!) Third, my math department head thought she would be teaching my classes this week, so she prepared the lesson plans before I was hired, so it almost felt like I was subbing yesterday, which was easy. I need to get my lesson plans ready for next week today, which will be a challenge being a homeschool day. I’m planning to sleep in as long as the girls will let me. We may not have a hot breakfast today.

Leave a Reply

