No-Spend Month: Day 15

Standard

When you are on a fiscal freeze, you realize how much you normally take for granted.  My husband has no chips left, and the rest of us are nearly out of chips, and I ran out of sweet things to eat a long time ago.  I have resorted to Wheat Thins just to get a little sweet taste, but I’m almost out of those.  The little ones finished off their fruit snacks yesterday, and we are almost out of the convenient pouches of applesauce and yogurt for their school lunches.  I almost bought extra at the end of September, but you aren’t supposed to stock up on food.  I may have to try making chips.  I have corn tortillas and potatoes, but I doubt my husband would eat them. 

I was so exhausted last night that I kept nodding off while trying to finish my post about day 14.  I realized today that I forgot to mention last night’s dinner.  My mother-in-law hurt her back and couldn’t keep the twins or walk up to eat with us.  All three guys went to church for dinner and their Bible study groups, so it was just me and the three girls, who are almost vegetarians, so I didn’t fix the stuffed bell peppers.  Now I need to find some friends who would like some bell peppers because there is no way we will eat them all before they go bad. Seriously, if you are a local friend, let me know if you want some. 

  • Today, the kids and I stayed home all day, so we didn’t spend any money.  
  • My husband had lunch with a friend, who surprised him by buying his lunch!  His friend wouldn’t let him spend any money because he knows we are doing this no-spend month.  How awesome is that?
  • A few people picked up items I sold through our online garage sale, so I made $37 today.  Not bad for staying home all day. 
  • We had breakfast for dinner:  homemade waffles, bacon, scrambled eggs, and cantaloupe fresh from our garden today.
About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

One response »

Leave a Reply

