No-Spend Month: Day 16

Standard

Well, we have made it over halfway through the month.  Woohoo!  We still have over $200, but we are running out of things.  I’ll have to buy dishwasher detergent soon because I can hardly keep up with the dishes with the help of the dishwasher.  There is no way I’m going to try hand-washing all of our dishes for the rest of the month.  We have sold $163 worth of items and spent a total of $226, so we are only down $63 for the month.  Oh, I forgot about the doctor’s fees.  I forgot to take cash to our appointments, so I used our debit card, but we did have my little paycheck from last month in there to cover gas, and I’ve only filled up once so far, so we still haven’t dipped into my husband’s paycheck. 

  • Breakfast was leftover bacon and waffles from last night. 
  • The kids and I packed lunches for school, but my husband ate out to celebrate Boss’s Day.
  • I took money from our Christmas fund and bought books from our book fair for Christmas presents for the kids.  It was fun to do some shopping today, especially knowing that this money had already been set aside for this purpose and wasn’t coming out of our monthly budget. 
  • Our kids had a fall carnival at school this afternoon.  We were able to prepay for tickets last month and pick them up today.  The kids had a lot of fun and won candy and prizes by playing games.  

    The little girls had a blast in the bounce house and got to stay in a long time because no one was waiting to jump.

     
  • I put a pork tenderloin in the crockpot when we came home around 1:00 pm.  After the carnival, I cooked some pasta and green beans and sliced some tomatoes that my little ones picked this afternoon.  They went out by themselves and came back in with a bowl full of tomatoes, a cucumber, and a red bell pepper, and they were carrying a ripe cantaloupe!  I was too busy making last minute preparations for a carnival game to think about taking their picture with their harvest.  They were so proud of themselves.
  • I sold a few more things on our online garage sale for a total of $15.  I almost feel bad charging people for helping me clean out stuff that has been taking up space in my house.  I love all the free space I have now, and I don’t miss anything that I’ve sold.
About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

Leave a Reply

