No-Spend Month: Day 17

Standard

Before we started this month, I posted on Facebook that we were about to start a no-spend month. Someone replied that it would be hard with the holidays. My first thought was that this would help you prepare for the holidays. Later, I realized she must mean Halloween. We don’t really consider Halloween a holiday at our house. We used to join our neighbors in trick-or-treating but decided to quit a couple years ago when we moved out of a big neighborhood. My husband has always thought it was ridiculous for parents to dress their children up and then send them up to strangers’ houses to ask for candy. We tell our children not to talk to strangers, but then we tell our kids it’s okay on Halloween?  My husband would much rather we buy our kids some candy ourselves than take them to ask strangers for it, and now that we have four kids, I have to agree with him.  I bought a bag of Starbursts last month for our girls to have as treats this month and to eat on Halloween, and a very dear friend at church keeps our son supplied with Bottle Caps candy. (She also gives Big Sister Starbursts, but Big Sister eats her candy much faster than Big Brother.) We will be at church the night of Halloween this month, so our kids probably won’t even miss going trick-or-treating.  

  • We had breakfast and lunch at home today.  
  • My husband worked in the yard while I did a few things in the house.  He picked all of these bell peppers for me, not realizing I was waiting for them to turn red.  Oh well.  Green bell peppers are good too.  
  • My husband picked up his clothes at the dry cleaners and paid $22.90 cash.  
  • I sold something for $3, so we went to Sonic for happy hour and spent $2 on drinks for my husband and oldest daughter. 
  • We went to church tonight, and Big Brother had to be there two hours early to serve, so we were away from home even longer than normal.  We bought dinner after church and spent $21.

I know now why red bell peppers cost more than green. It takes much longer for them to ripen to red, and they are more likely to get eaten by something or get a bad spot before they fully ripen, especially when you don’t use any pesticides in your garden.  I had several red bell peppers that I didn’t get to use this week, so I diced them and froze them (8 cups!) to use all winter.  I took 14 green bell peppers to church and shared with friends.  I kept 10 peppers to dice and freeze tomorrow.  I still have several on my plants, so I’ll use fresh ones as long as I can and dice up some more to freeze.  I’m hoping I won’t need to buy any bell peppers for several months.  

About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

Leave a Reply

