No-Spend Month: Day 18

Standard

I made waffles for breakfast again this morning and thought I should share my recipe because we all love it.  I use the same recipe for pancakes and waffles.  Sometimes, I use two eggs instead of one (decreasing the milk slightly) to add a little protein.  You can use all white flour or all whole wheat or mix white and wheat. I like to use ground flax seed and oats in place of some of the flour, but my kids like them with just white flour.  These are sweet enough to eat without syrup, which is how most of us eat them. You could reduce the sugar by half if you want. 

Homemade Pancakes and Waffles

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 cup sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1 large egg

1 TBSP vegetable oil

1 TBSP vanilla

1 cup milk

Combine all ingredients in a one-quart bowl. Whisk until all ingredients are blended but not completely smooth.  Heat waffle iron or griddle for pancakes.  Pour batter on hot iron/griddle and cook until golden brown.  Enjoy!

  • We joined our small group from church for a Pumpkin Parable event today.  Each family paid $20 for pizza, drinks, delicious desserts, and fun for everyone.  We debated about whether or not to spend the money for this, but we have plenty of cash left and haven’t done anything pumpkin-related this fall, so we decided to join in the fun.      

    Someone didn’t want to be in the group picture.

     
  • It took me much longer to grade papers today than I was expecting, so I didn’t make dinner this evening.  Thankfully, Big Brother stepped up and entertained the twins and then cooked macaroni and cheese for himself and the twins while my husband took Big Sister to Awana.  My husband ate some corn dogs, and Big Sister ate some of the macaroni and cheese when they got home.  I finally ate some leftovers just before 9:00 pm.  I’m exhausted.
About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

One response »

  1. Oh my goodness that last picture of Little Sister, she looks so much like Big Sister.  Love the tongue of Big Sister in that picture too, Cyndi

Leave a Reply

