No-Spend Month: Day 23

Standard

I. Am. Exhausted. Between Big Sister sleep walking at 10:00 pm, a thunderstorm, my husband’s phone going off several times because there was a fire in a neighboring town, the twins waking up at 2:30 am, and then my alarm going off at 5:00 am, I didn’t get much sleep last night.  I feel like I did when I had one newborn.  (Having two newborns was exponentially more exhausting.)  That storm last night and the continued rain today has caused some flash flooding in our area.  We took this photo on our way home from school early this afternoon.  

 There is a creek to the far right in this photo, but it completely flooded this family’s yard.  Part of their driveway was covered with water.  If you zoom in, you can see a basketball goal down the driveway and a tire swing hanging from a tree but almost halfway covered by water.  Fortunately, their house is built on a small hill to the left. 

  • The kids and I packed lunches to take to school today.  My husband had lunch with a friend, who bought his lunch.   He obviously has some great friends.
  • I made southwest skillet chicken and rice for dinner for the first time.  We really enjoyed it, and this meal will definitely go on our monthly menu.  Speaking of that, I need to start working on my menu for November.   I’m hoping to do a better job of planning ahead in regards to groceries and not go to the store as often as I had been before we started this no-spend month.  That’s definitely one lesson I’ve learned this month.  
  • We didn’t spend any money today.  I’ve been so busy since I started teaching that I haven’t posted any garage sale items, so we didn’t make any money either.  I’ll work on that tomorrow because I want to make sure we have enough to get us through the end of the month.  
About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

Leave a Reply

