Blackberry Cobbler

Standard

Blackberry cobbler is one of my favorite desserts (I have several!), so I learned how to make cobblers from my grandma many years ago.  I like extra crust in my cobbler, so I prepare enough pie crust dough to have a solid crust on the bottom and a lattice crust on the top.  (My mom always made pretty pie crusts and cobblers with lattice tops, so I automatically do the same.)

Before I had children, I would take little balls of dough and mix them in with the berries for extra crust pieces throughout the cobbler, but now my children stand around our kitchen island waiting for me to give out pieces of dough to each one of them.  They aren’t satisfied with one piece either!  Just know that this is an option for your cobbler if you love crust and don’t have hungry little people clamoring for more.  

Back in October, I shared one of my pie crust recipes when I made a crust for a quiche, and I used the same recipe this evening for my cobbler, but I used butter this time and included the sugar.  (That’s probably why my children kept asking for more!)  I usually need to double this recipe for a double-crust pie/cobbler, but I only had about three cups of fresh blackberries (from our garden), so I used a small 8×8 baking dish.  If you make a 9×13 cobbler, you will need to double the recipe for this crust (unless you only want crust on the top). 

Sweet Pie Crust

1 1/2 cups flour

2 TBSP sugar

1/4 tsp salt

8 TBSP shortening or 10 TBSP butter, room temperature

4 TBSP cold milk

Combine all ingredients except milk.  Use a pastry blender or fork to cut the butter into the flour mixture.  Add milk and work into flour mixture with a spoon until dough begins to form a ball.  At this point, you can roll out your dough on your counter or on waxed paper.  I place about half of the dough in the baking dish and use a small roller to roll it out in the dish. For the lattice, I roll out the dough on a cutting board.  The dough doesn’t stick to the cutting board like it does to other things.

After you prepare your pie crust recipe, you can make a cobbler using your favorite fruit or berries–fresh or frozen.  I’ve had blueberry, cherry, strawberry, peach, and, of course, blackberry.  I have also used frozen mixed berries in a cobbler.  

My grandma doesn’t use many cookbooks or recipe cards.  She has cooked for so long that she just knows how much of each ingredient to add.  A scoop of this, a pinch of that, etc.   This makes it difficult for me to replicate her recipes, but she and I came up with this recipe for cobbler a long time ago.  I’ve never tried to find a different recipe because I like this one just fine.  It’s sweet and simple. 

Berry Cobbler

16 oz (about 4 cups) berries

1 cup sugar

1 TBSP flour

1 TBSP butter

Pour berries in baking dish.  (Place bottom crust in dish first if desired.)  Sprinkle sugar and flour over berries.  Cut butter into pats in baking dish.  Cover with top crust.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes or until berry juice is bubbling and crust is nicely browned.  

I hope you will try making this recipe sometime.  It’s worth the effort. 

About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

Leave a Reply

