Zucchini Bread

Standard
Zucchini Bread


My mother-in-law brought me a huge zucchini from her garden yesterday morning, and she had already given me a small one, so I decided to make zucchini bread yesterday.  I used my food processor to shred the zucchini and ended up with seven cups of shredded zucchini!  I was able to make 2 1/2 dozen muffins and a large Bundt-shaped loaf of bread.  


I thought we had enough to share with a friend, but my girls decided they liked zucchini bread and ate almost a dozen muffins yesterday!  When I was mixing up the batter, they weren’t sure about the green stuff going in the bowl, but once they smelled the muffins, they all wanted one. Big Sister is my pickiest eater and said, “This is good, Mom,” and asked for more!  The little girls were so cute with their praise that I had to video them. 

​​

Zucchini Bread

2 1/4 cups flour

1 cup sugar

3/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

2 cups zucchini, shredded

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/2 cup milk

2 eggs

Mix all dry ingredients together in a large bowl.  Add all other ingredients and mix well.  Pour batter into greased baking dish and bake at 350 degrees or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean–about 20 minutes for 18 muffins, 35 minutes for four mini loaves, or 45 minutes for one regular loaf or a Bundt pan.

I use this same recipe for banana bread, replacing the zucchini with three mashed bananas.  Zucchini is my favorite though. Just look at those beautiful, green flecks. 

About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: MORE Zucchini Bread | Chronicling Chaos

  2. Pingback: Support = Success | Chronicling Chaos

Leave a Reply

