A Weighty Matter

Standard
A Weighty Matter

I have been debating whether or not to share this with everyone, but I need some accountability, and I think being honest with you about my weight will push me to finally lose the extra pounds I have put on over the last five years.


I have never before in my life weighed this much unless I was pregnant or postpartum, but I have been stuck at this weight for a few months now, and the twins are three years old.  I used to run or work out on our elliptical several days a week and got down to my lowest adult weight of 122 pounds in late 2010, but I let the weight sneak back on until I weighed 135 pounds in 2012.  Then I found out I was expecting twins, and I had to stop all exercise except walking.  I grew lazy, and then having twins changed everything.  I am a stress eater, and having four kids is stressful.  A trip to the store with all of them warrants a treat, right?  I’m trying to work out and lose weight, but I don’t have the motivation to get out of bed at 5:00 am or the self-control to eat less.   I need a challenge, competition, and/or accountability, so here I am laying it all out there.  Someone, please challenge me or hold me accountable.  My goal is to lose five pounds a month in August, September, October, and November.  Would any of you like to join me?

My fitness plan:

  • work out on our elliptical at least three days a week
  • use my 30 Days app to challenge myself to complete crunches, push-ups, leg raises, and planks
  • wear my Fitbit and take at least 10,000 steps a day

My nutrition plan:

  • eat less than 1800 calories a day
  • track food eaten throughout the day
  • drink at least 72 ounces of water a day


I had my oldest daughter take photos of me this morning in tighter clothing than I feel comfortable in, but I’m hoping they will show the changes in my body as I lose weight and get in shape.  My main complaint is my belly, but I need to slim down everywhere and tone my muscles.  I will post photos to show my progress as I change my lifestyle to become healthier.   
If you would like to join me on this journey, please comment and let me know.  It will help me stay motivated if I know I’m not alone.

My Starting Weight ~ July 26, 2016

About Leslie

I am a wife and mother of four, who loves organization but is dealt a new hand of chaos each day. I love Jesus, my husband, and each of my unique children. I strive to foster these relationships and bring a little organization to our chaotic home. I want to be a better blogger, but, truthfully, this is just not as high on my priority list as the aforementioned relationships or the state of our home.

10 responses »

  1. Wow. Great minds think alike! As you know we just moved and with any move comes junk food and pizza! Things I don’t normally eat. Add to that almost no working out in the past 2-3 years because of my knee surgery and I’m at my highest non-pregnant weight as well. Oh, and did I mention I turn 49 next month! Ahhhhhhh! I’m with you girl! I too was going to do some 30 day challenges probably squats and push ups. I weighed in this morning at 156.5 and 28.5% body fat. My goal is 135. 20 pounds would make me feel like a million bucks! Thanks for putting yourself out there. My pics to come!

    • You are taller than I am, so we probably have about the same body fat percentage. I understand about moving and not eating well. My excuse has been the twins being sick and our busy schedule, but I’m done making excuses. I need to lose the weight and keep it off. We can do this together!

  2. Pingback: Support = Success | Chronicling Chaos

  3. Leslie, it doesn’t look to me like you weigh as much as you show on your post. Unfortunately, I will not be joining you in the challenge to lose weight but I know the frustration on the toning up part. Just wait until you get much, much older and try to find the energy to tighten up those muscles!!! I think you look great.

    • Thank you! I think the weight is spread all over my body. I’m tired of my clothes not fitting. I think I have plenty of muscle, but it’s hidden under flabby skin.

  4. Pingback: Weekends, Working Out, and Weighing In | Chronicling Chaos

  5. Pingback: Two Months of Eating Less and Moving More | Chronicling Chaos

  6. Pingback: New Year, New Goals | Chronicling Chaos

Leave a Reply

