Running Lately

Standard
Running Lately

Well, it has been a hot minute since my last blog post. I started to just make a Facebook post about today’s run, but I did not like the way the photos were cropped. The sun is shining brightly, and the sky is so blue. I want it all to show in the photos. I have run outside quite a bit lately, so I will add photos from those runs as well. Treadmill photos are not as blog worthy. Lol. Today’s run marks 596 days straight of running at least one mile a day.

I usually run on the treadmill because it is convenient, but I have a 10k coming up in two weeks, and I know I will be sore if I do not run outside before the race, so I mentioned to my girls that I was thinking about running outside today. Two of them decided to go with me. Since I needed four miles, I urged them to take their bicycles. My sweet girl in the photo above parked her bike about a half mile before our turn-around point and ran with me for close to a mile. I have a feeling she will be running circles around me by junior high.

This silly girl refused to take any photos, but I snagged this one after she ran into the fence and fell over laughing. I tried to snap it while she was on the ground, but she was too fast.

I was afraid this action shot would be blurry, but it turned out perfectly! I need to get my girls some bottle holders for their bicycles and some running/cycling gear because they stole my shirt and jacket.

I had a different combination of two daughters on Thursday’s training run. They each ran about a mile before heading home, leaving me to run another mile alone, but I will take a mile with them over nothing at all.

My husband and I recently spent some time with family in Illinois, and I had no choice but to run outside. I could not let my run streak end just because it was cold and I did not have access to a treadmill. My running gear was a bit different for those runs than my runs back home.

I enjoy seeing snow and frozen ponds while running up north. It is so different than Texas running.

The only problem with running in colder weather while out of town is how much I have to try to fit in my suitcase!

The photo above was from last Sunday during a wind advisory. It was cold and reminded me of our crazy weather the day we ran Hot Chocolate Dallas.

I ran the 15k for the fourth year in a row and actually saw a few snowflakes falling intermittently.

My daughter and her bestie ran the 5k. I felt terrible that their first Hot Chocolate experience was so miserably cold and windy, but they had fun and want to run it again next year.

Leave a comment